Freaky Friday

It’s Friday, end of the week, time for something a little lighthearted.

Someone commented on the images in the two Mezzanine Window posts – ‘The Mezzanine Window’ and ‘The Mezzanine Window Part 2’ – saying, entirely reasonably, that they would like to see the abstract distortions in the windows without the window framing elements.

An interesting comment. I included the framing because it gave context, and I suppose because it’s my window that I walk by on my way up/down stairs on a daily basis the context is important.

But the opposite is also true – take the context away and the abstracts command the stage, and make an entirely valid but different image. But what happens if you mess around with the image a bit more? And so, like a small boy given a pack of poster paints to mess around with, off I went to play in the Software Toy Cupboard – otherwise known as the sub-menus of the Filter menu in Photoshop.

I didn’t do exactly what was suggested, I seldom do: the side of the window remained in the frame but not as an identifiable object.

Playing with pixels is fun, not to be taken too seriously. To paraphrase a famous line from Eric Morecambe: ‘I’m using all the same pixels but not necessarily in the right order’.

[I’m sorry, if you’re not from the UK that reference will mean absolutely nothing to you. Those from the UK will recall arguably one of the funniest moments in a Morecambe and Wise show on TV when Eric attempted to play the Grieg Piano Concerto with an orchestra conducted by Andre Previn. He made an absolute mess of the classic piano intro and when confronted by Mr Preview (as Eric called him) he said ‘I’m playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order’]

Click here for the Wiki page on this famous comedy duo.

What you see here will not be what you call photography. Who cares! I’m having fun. It’s Abstract Art – of a kind. I’ve coined a word for these results – Abstractions.

These are two of the images I came up with. I’ll just let them speak for themselves. Both originated from the image seen in the first ‘Mezzanine Window’ Post – click here to see the original.

Enjoy your weekend. And a message to God: stop it raining, please. Sadly, I don’t expect a result!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Abstractions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Freaky Friday

  1. Dave DiCello says:

    Really cool work here Andy, definitely creative! The first one almost looks like a painting. Love that quote too, at least the paraphrase of it! May have to use that sometime!

  2. Len says:

    Excellent abstracts and great quote Andy. The great thing about abstracts is that you don’t have to travel to get there and you can make anything around you the subject. Your enjoyment comes through the images.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for commenting, Len. Absolutely, I don’t need the sunshine to produce these. Which is good, because in the last few days the sun has gone AWOL, Yep – they are just fun.

  3. rigmover says:

    Great work, glad it was this morning and not Sunday morning, don’t think I could handle it with a hangover.

  4. Nice shot. I have something like the 1st picture taken in Lake Tahoe, the water reflected tthese amazing swirls from the under water pipes!…

  5. munchow says:

    What is photography? I guess you used images captured by a camera and then did something with them. Which is what we always do, except in this case you did more than usual. But as you said, who cares… I like your creative explosion. Filters most of the time tend to overdo and make pictures less interesting, but in this case you made something beautifully artistic in the process. Particularly the first one is a great abstraction.

  6. ehpem says:

    Awesome – so much more than the original suggestion to just crop out the frame. This works really well, and looks great. And yet, I bet it still feels to you quite a lot like your window in your house – the colours and light are still there. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks – glad you like how I’ve handled this. You’re right – I can still see the window. I left part of the window in because the White added something extra – without it the images just lacked that extra range of tones.

  7. Marcie says:

    Yes – such fun!! Wonderful abstracts!

  8. Phillip says:

    Wonderful images Andy. They do appear so different with the window frame removed. This second one is really creative. Great job!

Comments are closed.