Germander Speedwell

Spring has gone AWOL. We have what I suppose we should expect in April – April showers. But it is also darned cold with overnight frosts, daily rain and a keen northerly wind. The sun has beat a retreat for most of the time. Thankfully the blossom – currently stalled – seems not to have been too badly damaged.

But the advantage of a garden, with an orchard area allowed to grow semi-wild, is that when the sun puts in an appearance I don’t have far to go to search out an image.

Germander Speedwell - Veronica Chamaedrys

This is Germander Speedwell – a tiny wild flower no more than 3-4mms across that grows in clumps. Bright blue in colour it is a delightful little flower but not easy to photograph. The flower stalks tend to be of mixed length and trying to find a bunch of three or four that form a neat cluster where the flower heads line up in a single focal plane is not an easy task.

Finally I found a bunch in the last few days. I’ve given this shot a painterly effect because I think it suits the subject. It’s also a useful trick for covering up when not every last petal is totally sharp.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Microscapes, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Germander Speedwell

  1. myallegro31 says:

    I’ve seen those little guys before!! Beautiful work. You are corrent, a single focal plane with 4 flowers is quite a task!

  2. Len says:

    Excellent Andy. Getting all of those flowers in focus. Beautiful color contrast too.

Comments are closed.