Diagonal Lines

Network Rail’s new HQ building in central Milton Keynes featured in an earlier post – ‘Nearing Completion, at sunset’. I ended that post saying: ‘I confidently predict this will be a much photographed building’.

I stand by that assertion. If you are attracted to structures with strong lines then you will be drawn to this building time and time again.

Today’s two images are of one small part of the finished exterior.

You may be wondering what part of the building is creating the overlaid diagonal lines. The answer is a huge steel latticed structure that stands in front of, but detached from, the building’s angled frontage: like a massive venetian blind. This must have added considerably to the cost and I’m puzzled as to what purpose it serves – apart, of course, from the fact that in my opinion it adds to the photographic appeal of the building. For which I give thanks to the Architect!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, Milton Keynes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Diagonal Lines

  1. Hi, I like these. Of the two I prefer the second more. It has more contrast and as an abstract works better with my eye. In the larger image the two big white diagonals feel like they disrupt the overall effect whereas in the second the diagonal completes the lower third of the pic and it becomes a much stronger image. Do you have a preference? Thanks for sharing. Best wishes PC

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for that perceptive comment. Being objective about one’s work is something I still struggle with sometimes after 45 years! Both are ‘graphic’, the second I think is compositionally stronger and ‘meatier’ (but I think I may have overdone the intensity of the blue). The first I like for the rather jarring crossed-through diagonals and the balance between the lamp and the partial top left window. You’re the first to comment – it will be interesting to see what others think…

  2. hdrexposed says:

    Now this is cool Andy. I think that I would go for the first one, as the repetitive pattern across the image is particularly striking. Well seen and captured my friend.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for commenting Dave. Repetition works well sometimes with the occasional extra element to create the contrast – that’s why I liked the lamp post.

  3. Len says:

    I love images with great lines Andy and this one is no exception. I think I like the first one as it gives a little scale. I do like the darker color on the wall in the second one.

  4. Awesome image, Andy. Love the pattern in this. Really great find.

  5. Very cool image and shots Andy. I do prefer the first one as you get more of the lines and pattern.

  6. leadinlines says:

    Agree about the venetian blind effect. Pointless, but effective!

  7. I love architectural shots like these. Nice find.

  8. Great lines in these shots Andy. I think I the second image a little better as it is easier for me to absorb.

  9. theaterwiz says:

    Nice abstract, I like the first one myself

  10. Wayne Frost says:

    Nice capture, Andy. I am partial to the first image, I like the strength exuded by the diagonal lines and I like the interplay of color tones.

Comments are closed.