Lilac Leaves

There is, to my mind, something magical and mystical about the process of Spring. It never ceases to amaze, and when you have the capacity to watch it on a daily basis (as I am fortunate to be able to do in a moderately large garden) then the mystery deepens.

From an almost invisible node: a leaf, blossom or a flower may evolve. How is that process governed? How does that bud know it is to generate a leaf and not a bud of blossom or a flower? How does it know when to start? What controls this process? How does a cell know it’s destiny?

Observing the evolution of Lilac leaves is something that fascinates me every year. I return time and time again to capture images of these leaves that have such a graceful shape; and set against the light (one of our lilac trees is ideally positioned for that ‘contre jour’ shot) I find there is an almost endless stream of images.

Selecting a leaf, or a cluster for capture is part of the fun. Finding that one image that stands out is a challenge and the result so satisfying when it is found.

Today’s images are all of the same tree, captured over the past three years. Some straight, some derivative.

Not to photograph this beauty would somehow seem a dereliction of duty as a photographer.

Click any image to show an enlarged version.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Microscapes, Spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Lilac Leaves

  1. I like ’em all, but I love the third image. It looks like a graceful bird.

  2. seekraz says:

    They are beautiful, Andy…simple and complex at once…and very nice words with them, too. I find the fourth shot striking. Thank you. 🙂

  3. Rick says:

    I like the last shots with the leaves isolated in black. Very nice.

  4. 4th one is my fav. I love the way the light glows through the leaves. Thanks for sharing!

  5. marciescudder says:

    Such perfectly simple and exquisite beauty. I – too – have been marveling at the magic of spring!

  6. Phillip says:

    Great job Andy. I love the light shining through leaves like these.

  7. Fantastic set of images but the 3rd one is great. I love how the light shines through the leaves.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Edith. This Lilac sit about 8feet in front of a dark hedge, and the sun hangs in the sky above the hedge. Perfect for those into-the-light shots.

  8. Eden says:

    Nice! Cool light.

  9. Meanderer says:

    A wonderful set of images – and how lovely that Spring fills you with awe and wonder too!

    I went to Hillier Gardens and Arboretum in Hampshire a couple of days ago and their snowdrops, aconites, and hellebores – amongst other early Spring plants – are already showing.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment. You’ve been digging in the Archives! Those images were taken in our garden – not far to go to find something a little different. I haven’t seen Snowdrops yet but Daffodils are about to open down the road from me where they are growing in front of a south facing stone wall. Ridiculous!

Comments are closed.