Your table’s waiting

I’ve come to the conclusion that Street Café owners are optimists by nature. Whatever the weather or season their street furniture is set up awaiting custom. And whatever the weather or the season, there will be one or two outcasts (due to the UK’s smoking regulations) forced to have their coffee/tea/whatever outdoors because their beverage cannot be de-coupled from a habitual cigarette.

Today’s image is of a street café in a neighbouring town. Custom was absent: it was a cold day and no-one in sight.  Shot with my 11-16mm Tokina, the background was a bit cluttered toward the corners and distracting, so I eradicated it to allow the tables and chairs to have no conflicting points of interest.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Your table’s waiting

  1. Nice shot Andy. I like the way the light hits the tabletops and seats with the dark background. I am always amazed when I see those smokers is really cold weather sitting outside.

  2. Wayne Frost says:

    This is what I term a “found objects” image, just every day objects that when isolated from their environment they become artistic studies, and hold their own in terms of visual interest. Very nice job.

  3. This is way cool, Andy! Love the almost abstract nature! Great geometry and shapes at play here, and the way you composed this brings the viewer right through the frame!

  4. Very nice Andy I like the way you’ve composed this.

  5. seekraz says:

    Gotta love the “crop” feature. 🙂

    Very nice, Andy.

  6. Ginnie says:

    This happens in the Netherlands, too, Andy, but more for the hope of sun than anything else. The Dutch are some of the best sun-worshippers in the world, trust me!

Comments are closed.