Plum Blossom

For nearly the whole of last week as the sun shone out of a clear blue sky and the temperatures hovered around 20C, our fruit blossom teetered on the brink of bursting.

Finally last Friday, it burst. And that coincided with the start of the deterioration in the weather. Brilliant timing! Since then temperatures have nose-dived and snow is scheduled for Scotland and Northern England, while rain and frosts will affect our part of the country. Not good news for emerging blossom.

Sunday was cool in comparison but at least the sun did shine and so I grabbed a few frames of the blossom at the far end of our garden. We have several varieties of plum in our orchard area: Victoria, Golden, Damson and Greengage. They never erupt in the same order. This year it was the Victoria Plum trees that came first, with The Golden Plum following a day later. Greengage and Damson are a few days behind.

I don’t have to walk far for my images! And each year challenges me to improve or find something a little different.

Today’s images are all of Golden Plum blossom. But actually I’m hard pressed to spot the differences between the varieties. Just a subtle difference in the colour of the stamens.

More will probably follow as this crazy season continues to unfold. Click any image to see an enlarged version.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Microscapes, Spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Plum Blossom

  1. Len says:

    It looks like you have the same weather patterns as we do Andy. I think spring is really confused this year. Very nice images.

  2. Great set of images Andy. I love seeing these early signs of the warm weather to come (eventually).

  3. Beautiful set of images andy. I’m having a hard time picking a favorite.

  4. seekraz says:

    Sometime during my first spring here in Salt Lake, I read or saw on the news, or somewhere else, about how the snow acts like a refrigerator with the new blooms…so we shouldn’t be too concerned. I don’t think it applies to freezes, of course. I don’t know if I missed something, but it kind of makes sense. When the growers harvest their flowers, they refrigerate them for shipping, and then the florists keep many of them in the refrigerated display cases until they are sold.

    That aside, I think your photos are beautiful. I really like the third one…. Very nice, Andy. Thank you.

  5. Wonderful shots, Andy. So nice to see these after a long brown-out. LOL
    Great job capturing these.

Comments are closed.