Flowering Now

Spring is when our garden looks its best. The only formality about our garden is that it is walled. The bottom half is populated by fruit trees (a legacy of the previous owner) and we have allowed that area to go semi-wild. Elsewhere we have a few shrubs, lawns and borders, and everywhere colour is slowly filling the garden.

Violets in a crevice on our doorstep (click to enlarge)

Some plants are early but bizarrely the fruit trees are still not yet in blossom and that seems strange considering this must be the warmest month we’ve ever experienced. Maybe it’s the lack of rain that has inhibited them.

Flowering Currant (Ribes Sanguineum)

As you can guess, at this time of year I don’t have far to travel to find images!  So today’s post shows a few items currently in flower in our garden. Not all these images have been taken this year, in some instances I haven’t been able to improve on a previous year’s image.

Periwinkle - against the house wall

Forsythia

Forsythia is a substantial shrub that has a somewhat unruly growth, but in Spring it is a blaze of yellow. Not easy to photograph because of the clumping of flowers, that creates difficulties if one wants to isolate a few from a distracting background of a similar colour.

Primula

Primula is a vast genus of flowers of many colours of which the Primrose (below) is one variety.

Primroses

I’ll post again from our garden as the season develops. The blossom should be out in a few days time.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Microscapes, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Flowering Now

  1. Beautiful shots, Andy. Let’s us know that Spring is here in earnest. Really digging the softness of that last shot. Nice work!

  2. seekraz says:

    Beautiful garden, Andy…and thank you for naming the flowers and bushes. I found some Periwinkles in someone else’s lawn while out on my walks and there are tons of the Forsythia around town, as well. It struck me how hard it would be to capture a close-up of a single flower, as they are all so packed on the branches. Very pretty…thank you.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for the comment Scott. It’s difficult with an international ‘audience’ for a blog knowing what people know and are familiar with when it comes to flowers. You are absolutely right about Forsythia. Most images end up as a sharp flower swallowed up by a mass of out-of-focus yellow flowers. Not good compositionally. You just have to try and search out that little small bunch with a contrasting background – not easy.

  3. I don’t know what I’m more impressed with…the images or the fact that you know all these flowers by name. I’ve been told by some…my husband…that I don’t have a green thumb. Maybe if I was more familiar with the flowers I plant…. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Ha! Thanks Edith. I don’t have a green thumb either. My Father always said I was a good ‘Destructive’ gardener – meaning I was good at pulling things and cutting them down but not good at much else. He was a Botanist in his spare time with a great interest in wild flowers – I learnt a lot of names from him – but have forgotten most of them over the years.

  4. Phillip says:

    Beautiful images Andy. Spring is such a beautiful time of the year!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Phillip. Blossom on our fruit trees has just come out today. Bizarre, considering the hot recent weather: the blossom is a week later than it was last year. I don’t get it!!

Comments are closed.