Two Seats

Sometimes I shoot an image and really have no idea what I will do with it, or even if I want it. There’s just something ‘there’ that I connect with almost at a subconscious level. Maybe it’s just the shapes, contrast or lines. Occasionally it’s just a quirky little oddity, a ‘je ne sais quoi’. But in the Digital era an image costs zilch so – take it. It can be deleted later.

Original un-edited

This image of a white seat in a yellow rendered lakeside Pavilion at Stowe Landscape Gardens caught my eye last month. It’s not as sharp as it could be, nothing special really. Maybe it was just the incongruity of a not particularly stylish white seat set between two Doric columns. Back home, the original didn’t inspire me – unusable as it was. Then I started playing around with it in Photoshop. A conversion to B&W, (amending the Yellow slider to darken the yellow walls), then Levels to get maximum white, and then Filter/Artistic/Poster Edge and Bingo! I got to something I quite liked with a final crop.

The Final Image - click to enlarge

Fast forward 3 weeks to Rousham (see previous post – click here) and tucked away in a series of Arches were more decorative Seats. This time I knew (or thought I knew) why I was taking the image and what I would do with it. So, almost identical management of a B&W conversion……and I don’t think it really works. Not enough contrast. But you can be the judge:

click to enlarge

 Below is the original colour shot, with Poster Edge and a crop.

click to enlarge

So which one works this time? To my eye, I think the colour adds something. But I struggle to objectively judge my own work sometimes. Do post an opinion.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Derivative, Eclectica and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Two Seats

  1. Marcie says:

    A really interesting ‘study’. I’m with you on both counts. The first one is rendered quite spectacular in black and white..whereas the second works best in color.

  2. hdrexposed says:

    The second to last one is my favorite Andy, I like the dark contrast and the framing. They are all excellent though! Another great post!

  3. Yup I think the second one (in color) works much better then the B&W. Terrific post Andy. Always making us think!

  4. I actually love benches as subjects. That third shot with the minimal contrast is actually my favorite in this set. I personally love what isn’t expressed in an image as much as what is. That tension brings a ton of drama home in a picture like that. Great work here, Andy, top drawer!

  5. Great blog and images, Very Inspiring!!!

Comments are closed.