The John Madejski Garden at the Victoria and Albert Museum

I barely scratched the surface of the V&A (Victoria and Albert Museum) on my visit last week to the Photographs Gallery – see the previous post. The V&A is a huge (and hugely important) museum housing the world’s largest collection of decorative arts and design.

I visited on a beautiful Spring day – not really the kind of day when you wanted to stay indoors after winter, so not surprisingly I went out into the central courtyard now known as the John Madejski Garden since its recent re-design. I was not the only one basking in the warm sunshine.

We were like a species newly emerged from hibernation, and it didn’t take long for my camera to make an appearance.

The building itself (or just part of the rear wall of it catching the direct sun) is suitably impressive.

The people just a footnote but interesting in themselves.

But the image that really caught my attention was the reflection of this façade in the decorative pool of water.

I chose not to include any part of the real building in this image. Back home I processed it and then faced a quandary. With the image being pure reflection which way up should it be viewed? I flipped it and flipped it back.

Personally I prefer the view above with the reflection ‘inverted’ so it appears a bit like a watercolor produced by a painter with a rather exaggerated tremor.

And rather than ask you all to contort your bodies or contemplate the idea of performing a handstand on your desk to view the image as it was originally shot and before I flipped it, here’s a thumbnail that will save you the trouble (and risk)!

Click the thumbnail to see an enlarged version. And as is always the case, clicking on any image in the post will produce an enlarged version for you.

And do let me know your thoughts on this reflection.

Friday is a special day – see you then and you’ll find out why.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The John Madejski Garden at the Victoria and Albert Museum

  1. Great series of images, Andy! That reflective last image in fantastic. I think I like it best upright, however. Really cool look to that one in particular. 🙂

  2. Looks like a great place to visit Andy. Nice series of images but I am with Jimi, that last image is killer. Nice idea on the inversion

  3. Dave DiCello says:

    What an awesome set of shots here man. That last one looks just like a watercolor, that’s for sure!

  4. Curt Fleenor says:

    Beautiful location Andy! The pure reflection shot is definitely my favorite and I think I like it inverted as well.

  5. Very creative work with the reflection shot Andy. I like the inverted version as it makes you really think about how it was made and processed.

  6. ehpem says:

    I like the inverted version the best. It makes it look less like a reflection, and more like some strangely time worn building – in a Gaudi-ish sort of way. When I lived in London 20+ years ago, the V&A had a wonderful cafe in it – a destination all of its own and a model for other museums in design and ways to draw people in to your institution. I hope it still exists in a form that expresses the excellence in design which the museum is all about.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for commenting. Yes, the cafe is still there, directly behind the facade in three wonderful unchanged rooms, but there are additional eating areas in a modern style that extend laterally to either side. I’m heading back there in a weeks or two with my wife to see Cecil Beatons portraits of Queen Elizabeth. We’ll be eating in there – might catch a shot or two.

  7. Oh I love that reflected image, and do prefer it right side up.

  8. Terrific series Andy and I love the last image of the reflection. I like it flipped this way. When I first looked at it I wasn’t sure if it was the reflection or not. Love it.

Comments are closed.