The Hatter

Whilst driving I catch glimpses of many things – views, buildings, objects that I would like to take a closer look at. But as the driver (almost always) I don’t get much chance to take a detailed look as we pass by. Which is why it was nice, last week, to go and take a closer look at one or two things I had mentally noted as being of photographic interest.

We are regular visitors to ‘The Stables’, a concert hall established by Sir John Dankworth and his wife Cleo Laine on the S side of Milton Keynes – Jazz fans will know their names well. Our journey there takes us past Tinkers Bridge – an outlying neighbourhood area of MK, and out of the corner of my eye I had spotted a huge wall painting on the side of a building. And finally last week I went to take a closer look. And there’s only one word for what I saw – WOW! This is, I think, simply stunning.

The Hatter - click to enlarge

This image is only one tiny segment of what was on show. As is so often the case, I do not know the Artist’s name and so cannot acknowledge his/her brilliant work in this post (but if anyone reading this knows who the artist is, please contact me so I can make a proper attribution).

I came home with a number of images, and showed them to my wife who immediately said ‘Alice in Wonderland’. She’s clever like that! A little more research established that this image was likely to be based on Tim Burton’s film ‘Alice in Wonderland’ – a 2010 computer animated fantasy film based on Lewis Carroll’s two books ‘Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland’ and ‘Through the looking Glass’. In Tim Burton’s film, Johnny Depp is the voice of The Hatter (called The Mad Hatter in Lewis Carroll’s Book).

I confess I’d never heard of the Tim Burton film. But it’s nice to be able to put an image in context – a little bit of back story for us all.

Hope you like this. Tomorrow’s image is of the other side of this building – couldn’t be more different. Take a look, click here.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Milton Keynes, Seen on the Street, Street Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Hatter

  1. Excellent find Andy. Just love the colors in this. Tim Burton is a bit odd but his work is enjoyable

  2. Love this one, Andy, very vibrant and colorful! We loved that movie, it was a little on the strange side of things, but it also was the perfect escape from life!

  3. munchow says:

    It’s an incredible picture. As someone else just wrote, it’s so vibrant and colourful. Besides that I can recommend any film by Tim Burton. His creativity and vision is in a class of its own, even if Alice in Wonderland is for me less interesting than most everything else he has done.

  4. Ginnie says:

    You wife must be right, Andy, because that’s the first thing I thought of, too. 🙂 I love it.

  5. I love wall art. Wonderful colors. I recognized it right away although I haven’t seen the film. Terrific shot.

  6. seekraz says:

    Very nice shot…so vibrant.

Comments are closed.