In the Spirit of Optimism

There’s an old English saying about March:  ‘When March comes in like a lion, it goes out like a lamb,’ and the saying continues (in some versions): ‘When March comes in like a lamb, it goes out like a lion.’

That sums up March as a month of change, and also encompasses the contrasts that can lie within it.

Sometimes it feels as if Winter and Spring are waging a battle for supremacy. Spring saying to Winter: “Are you finished yet?”

And Winter Replying: “I haven’t made up my mind just yet, so don’t go jumping the gun.”

But out there, the retail trade is trying to convince us that Spring is here and winter is gone.

Primulas for sale - click to enlarge

In the spirit of Optimism, Garden Centres are keen to flog Spring plants, and persuade us to buy mowers. Sports shops are keen to dispose of winter stock with tempting discounting offers.

Empty tables - click to enlarge

And the pavement cafes are keen to promote the idea of Spring by taking the tethers off their outdoor furniture and setting the tables out to attract custom.

I’ll finish off with another saying about British weather: ‘you can have all 4 seasons in a day.’ And recently I reckon we’ve just about had that; a cold Winter night, Autumn fog in the morning, Spring flowers in bloom, and temperatures high enough for a typical cool British Summer’s day. One word sums up our weather – Capricious!

Let’s hope it’s warmer next week.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the Spirit of Optimism

  1. Dave DiCello says:

    The colors here are just incredible Andy! I think that western Pennsylvania shares your 4 seasons in a day…this has been a crazy winter!

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    Excellent images Andy. The last one has a great balance of light and shadow.

  3. Terrific shots Andy. I think we’ve had 4 seasons in a day just yesterday 🙂 I’m ready for Spring….actually I’m ready for summer.

  4. Marcie says:

    Oh…we’re having much of the same – all 4 seasons in a single day. Here – March came in a bit like a lion…but it’s been mostly lamb-like ever since. We’ll see how it will leave…
    Wonderful post!

Comments are closed.