A Walk in the Park

Last weekend my wife said “I’m tired of doing the same old walks, let’s find somewhere new to go”. That’s what happens when you live in the same place for 36 years – you get bored. She remembered spotting a footpath in an area of parkland close to the centre of Milton Keynes that we had talked about exploring. So, armed with a map, we set off.

I pocketed the Canon G10 more out of habit than optimism. The sky was overcast, the light was dull and the countryside had no colour.

It wasn’t the greatest of walks. From where we parked we had to wind our way past a small industrial estate to get to a gentle brook that ran past scrub and woodland. The mainline railway was 200yds to one side with the roar of passing trains, the dual carriageway a quarter mile on the other side – a constant drone. Not exactly quiet. But the path opened out into an area of parkland, and then threaded through an underpass and on to a horseshoe lake. About a mile in total. If nothing else, a useful scouting trip – worth a re-visit when there’s some green on the trees, perhaps. And the walk round the lake could be promising – I spotted a couple of Cormorants on a small rocky island.

The camera stayed firmly in my pocket – not an image in sight……..until I spotted the outflow from the lake.

Water Curtain - click to enlarge

A curtain of water curling over the edge to feed the brook. Image No 1.

On the way back we took a slightly different route using an alternative underpass where I happened upon a neat little bit of Street Art. Image No 2. I called this ‘The Jokers’.

The Jokers - click to enlarge

Off to one side I spotted a cyclist on a nearby path close to the Railway who looked as if he was taking a photograph. Curiosity got the better of me, so I deserted my wife (not an uncommon event) and went to take a look. And found Image No 3.

Pointing Finger - click to enlarge

His Right hand is pointing……. to what, or where?

Walkway - click to enlarge

To Image No 4. A tunnel under the Railway with a narrow fenced walkway lit from below.

This is where HDR would have come in handy. But this is a single image processed quite heavily in Photoshop to extract the maximum.

Finally back at the car, we spotted there was an event going on in the nearby conference centre. It turned out to be a Wedding Fair with a ‘vintage’ slant to it. And outside was a cute old Volkswagen Beetle with the roof down.

My little companions - click to enlarge

Cue Image No 5. I couldn’t resist the little ‘friends’ attached to the dashboard.

5 Images – none of them really having anything to do with Parkland. Similar to what happened when we went for a Lakeside Walk earlier this year. Click here to view that post.

So I end, as I did then, with the famous Tom Hanks quote from Forrest Gump: My momma always said “Life was like a box of chocolates…. you never know what you’re gonna get.”

Photography is like that box of chocolates – expect the unexpected! Go prepared.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Milton Keynes, Street Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Walk in the Park

  1. Jimi Jones says:

    Really cool series of shots, Andy. Love that tunnel image, just pulls me right in. This must have been a fun time for sure. 🙂

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    Very nice series of images Andy. I’m with Jimi, that tunnel shot is terrific. Sometimes the best images are the ones that you don’t plan for.

  3. Dave DiCello says:

    Some really cool images here Andy and all very well captured! The tunnel shot is my favorite as well!

  4. Jim Nix says:

    great collection/series here Andy, I am a fan of graffiti and this stuff looks great!

  5. Amazing what you’ll find when you decide to explore something new. Wonderful set of images.

  6. seekraz says:

    I found it all interesting, Andy…I do rather enjoy the water from the lake, though….maybe it’s the living aspect of it…motion, or something…or it’s just that I’m especially fond of water features. Always a pleasure visiting your site. Thank you.

  7. Adam Allegro says:

    Looks like a fantastic walk, Andy! I always find myself photographing street art. Sometimes it creates such a beautiful, artsy mood. Well done!

Comments are closed.