Roses for Leap Day

Today is ‘Leap Day’ – 29 Feb. First introduced over 2000 years ago with the transition from the Roman Calendar to the Julien Calendar in 45 BC.

Leap Day has long been associated with age-old Leap Day traditions and folklore. In Scotland, it used to be considered unlucky for someone to be born on Leap Day. In Greece it’s said to be unlucky for couples to marry during a Leap Year, and especially on Leap Day.

But Leap Day is chiefly known, of course, for the old Irish tradition that on Feb 29 women can propose marriage to men.

And so today, in a spirit of romanticism – sentimental old fool that I am – I’m posting an image of roses.

And just in case you’re wondering – I’m taken! My first wife is still my current wife, and she’ll do just fine. And these are the roses I bought her this year for Valentine’s Day and they’re still going strong, two weeks later.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Garden Plants and Wild Flowers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Roses for Leap Day

  1. Ginnie says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww. This is wonderful!!!

  2. Jimi Jones says:

    Fantastic image, Andy! Great color and detail.
    I’ve learned a little something about the “Leap” tradition. 😉

  3. I really like what you’ve done with the image. It looks great!

  4. Dave DiCello says:

    What a beautiful shot here Andy! Love the colors, so well put together!

  5. Adam Allegro says:

    Ahhh, wonderful post and a beautiful shot to accompany. Well done.

  6. Awww…that’s so nice. Your wife’s a lucky lady. Beautiful image Andy.

  7. seekraz says:

    Good for you…and beautiful flowers, too. 🙂

  8. Len Saltiel says:

    Great colors Andy. Surprised that they look so good after two weeks. In the US, it’s known as Sadie Hawkins day. My wife told me to stay inside today 😉

  9. ChrisdMRF says:

    I love the colours and the use of close crop to emphasise the subject.

  10. Beautiful grouping. I love the composition and the light.

  11. Great bit of history and a fitting shot to highlight the day Andy!

  12. Beautiful shot Andy. It also looks like you did good for Valentines too.

  13. munchow says:

    That is an extraordinary photograph of roses. The colours and tones are just incredible. The flowers are almost popping out of the frame. A very nice frame.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you so much, Otto. A very simple shot actually with the Canon G10, indoors with camera flash. Straight out of camera, no crop, touch of brightening and sharpening. I was surprised how well it turned out for what started off as a simple ‘snap’.

  14. ken bello says:

    There is no substitute for romance. Very nice.

Comments are closed.