It’s my ball…

“It’s my ball – and you’re not getting your hands on it”.

It's my ball - click to enlarge

Or words to that effect because this footballer looks pretty mean and determined to me.

The footballer - click to enlarge

This is a life-sized wood carving just outside the door of the Dixie Bar (an Irish Pub) in Morzine where I was recently skiing.

It’s a popular bar where a lot of live football (Soccer) is shown. Hence the carving, I presume – but I’ve no idea if the carving is of a particular footballer or if so who that might be. It’s simply a great piece of wood sculpting that deserves to be seen.

Two versions of the image here. I myself prefer the B&W conversion above – I deliberately processed it to produce a gritty contrasty image, because I think that suits the subject. The original colour version is below for comparison. Which one do you like?

The original - click to enlarge

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, Black & White, Seen on the Street and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s my ball…

  1. Ginnie says:

    The two effects are different, Andy, but the B&W seems a bit more “sinister,” if that makes sense. More rough and tough, maybe. But what a fabulous piece of word carving, for sure.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks thanks Ginnie. ‘Sinister’ was the word I was after – I thought that’s what he looked like and that’s what I wanted to convey. There are some amazingly talented people out there in the Art world.

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    Wonderful capture Andy. I think the B&W version is pretty awesome with great details, textures and tones that get a little lost in the color version.

  3. I agree andy I really like the B&W version it makes the details come alive. Well done.

  4. Mats says:

    I think I like the color one the best but it works as a black and white also. Nice!

  5. Jimi Jones says:

    These are great, Andy. I favor the B&W, but both are nice. Lovely find.

  6. Simon Morris says:

    Nice shot Andy – I prefer the B&W version… wonderful contrast and texture!

    Regarding the goalkeeper… I’m going to hazard a guess at Fabian Barthez (ex Manchester United and France) when he used to sport a ‘goatee’. The carving of his top gave it away, as he was one of the few goalkeepers that always wore a short sleeve! http://www.worldfootball.net/entry/_12954_fabien-barthez/

    A superb player, but not as good as Peter Schmeichel… no clues which footy team I support! 😉

  7. Marc says:

    I do not recognise this footballer, if in fact he’s an Irish player or not. To me he looks like the French goalie Fabian Barthez?

Comments are closed.