Waiting to fly

The process of flying from one country to another requires infinite patience. At the airport one moves from one zone to another (check-in, security, passport control, departure lounge, gate), each move entailing yet another queue. It’s like watching paint dry and takes nearly as long. And when you reach your destination airport you reverse some of those procedures!

Thankfully the journey is only a means to an end, and God help us if when we arrive, the ‘end’ has not justified the ‘means’! A coffee and a patisserie, magazines, a good book, an iPod and maybe a camera can go some way to reducing the tedium of the experience.

Geneva airport is one such gateway I brave more often than I would like on the way to/from summer and winter visits to France and Switzerland. In the last year or so, thanks to airport re-developments, the experience has improved somewhat from what was once a truly dire ordeal. There is now something to photograph too.

Which leads me neatly to two images taken on my recent return from a ski trip to the Portes du Soleil ski area.

Something a bit different: a pair of abstract reflections.

Colour Blocks - click to enlarge

The only recognizable element being the tails of two British Airways jets in their customary livery seen in the second image.

Flying the flag - click to enlarge

I didn’t even have to move from my seat in the departure lounge to capture these – which was useful, as on this occasion my wife wasn’t around to guard the hand luggage while I wandered off! You see, she comes in useful even at the airport!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Derivative, Eclectica, En Route and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting to fly

  1. andybeel says:

    Hi Andy I particularly like the first picture, a little more minimal but better balanced tonally – thanks.

    http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

  2. Eden says:

    Make for neat abstracts 🙂

  3. Dave DiCello says:

    Those colors are just awesome man, I love the abstract feel to this!

  4. Ginnie says:

    Actually, they’re both very cool, Andy. Good eye for seeing the potential. And I totally know what you mean about the airport experience these days…and the usefulness of a good wife to protect the hand luggage. 🙂

  5. Jimi Jones says:

    Love these, man. Nice reflective abstracts with great color.

  6. Adam Allegro says:

    Haha, nice writeup. I know the feeling all too well. Traveling in Europe is definitely different than the US. Very difficult at times, but almost always worth it. Wonderful abstracts.

  7. Andy, I could see the second image as a large print- great eye!

  8. drawandshoot says:

    Great abstract reflections.

Comments are closed.