Piste skiing

I’m in Zermatt for a week’s skiing. A brief post tonight  –  really brief!

Day 5 on the ski slopes and the best day yet from the point of view of sunshine – I was lucky in my choice of ski areas, moving from one to another and finding the sunny skies moved with me. The temperatures however remain icy: in the region -15-16C which is about Zero Fahrenheit.

For the first time this week, the Nikon came for a ride and here are three images grabbed on the pistes of fellow skiers.

The Weisshorn from the Kumme piste - click to enlarge

 The Weisshorn is a beautiful symmetrical mountain. This piste runs from the top of the Rothorn, in a very quiet ‘off the beaten track’ valley.

Skiers on 'White Hare'

 A 300mm grabbed shot on White Hare, a red run from the Hohtalli lift.

Cruising - click to enlarge

Cruising on the Hohtalli piste – the unmistakable silhouette of the Matterhorn ahead.

Follow the links below to the other posts from this week’s ski trip to Zermatt:

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Skiing - Zermatt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Piste skiing

  1. Wow…stunning shots Andy. Glad you’re getting the sun. Keep warm.

  2. munchow says:

    Skiing under Matterhorn, that is a dream for me. It certainly looks like you have had a great time. Good to have the sun – even when it’s freezing cold. Great shots. I hope you will have continues sunshine for the rest of your stay.

Comments are closed.