Hoar Frost

There’s nothing predictable about the weather, or the seasons. A glance back through this year’s UK weather patterns provides abundant proof of that statement. December is no exception. This past week the wildest storms for a decade swept the far north of the UK. Middle England where I live was spared this onslaught.

This time a year ago the whole of the UK was gripped, not by severe gales but by a lengthy deep freeze that started early in December and lasted way beyond Christmas. For a few days we were treated to a spectacular display of Hoar Frost – one of Nature’s marvels when the ordinary is rendered extraordinary by the deposition of delicate ice feathering, the riming of leaves and the formation of ice arrows down wind. And in that scenario (sadly rare), when the sun shines, Winter becomes Wonderland.

Unsurprisingly I was out with my camera. It was a cold, windless day, and the sun – low in the sky – added the required contrast and drama when it was needed. Finding images was not difficult.

cacti-like spines rim leaves - click to enlarge

In our garden, the leaves of shrubs were decorated with icy spikes and feathering.

I went for a walk that I’ve walked many times around the edge of our village – the countryside was transformed. The woods had been dusted with ice crystals.

The Frosted wood - click to enlarge

Seed heads - click to enlarge

The remains of embellifers like Cow Parsley were transformed into beautiful iced flowers. Leaves in the undergrowth regained their beauty.

Frosted leaves - click to enlarge

Poplars at Sundown - click to enlarge

By the time I was walking home, the sun was about to set and a Stand of Poplars looked magical. Days like that lift one’s spirit.  Let’s hope we have more of them this winter – but in short bursts, not a month long freeze!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Microscapes, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hoar Frost

  1. Len Saltiel says:

    Nice images Andy. I think I like the first with the light better than snow (nothing to shovel, for sure). The weather here has been crazy too. A late unexpected snow storm in October knocked out electrify for a week. Since then, temperatures in the 50’s. Almost unheard of here.

  2. I really dig that first image! Winter is definitely upon us!

  3. Jimi Jones says:

    What a beautiful effect of nature, Andy. You capture these very nicely. Interesting to still see such nice colors mixed with the frost.

  4. Dave DiCello says:

    I’ve never seen frost look so beautiful Andy! You’ve certainly done an awesome job of capturing these. Stunning landscape in that second one, I can almost feel the cold air!

  5. Wonderful series of images Andy. I love that first one. The spikes of ice makes it look almost cactus like.

  6. Adam Olson says:

    That first image is awesome! Great series!

  7. I agree with everyone about that first image. So unusual and beautiful at the same time.

  8. What a great, great set, my friend, LOVE this series!!

  9. Marc says:

    That first image is fantastic Andy. Very cactus like.

  10. Great set of shots Len. We missed the hoar frost in london just snow and bitter cold.

  11. Adam Allegro says:

    Fantastic Andy! That last shot is stunning!

  12. Ginnie says:

    I am so ready for this to happen again, Andy…THIS year! We had snow by now last year, here in the Netherlands, even on Christmas day. But that was the end of it. So far this year it has barely reached the freezing point, hovering close to 40F most days. Where is the hard, cold winter that was predicted? I do hope it comes. After all, it isn’t quite winter yet. 🙂

    I LOVE your images!

  13. Greta series. I particularly like the Frosted Wood image.

Comments are closed.