Glass Houses

There was a time, a century and more ago, when many of the buildings erected in London were of Portland Stone and the architecture was classical. Those buildings are still there and they still look great – in a way they define London. Nowadays, the new ‘current’ style of building involves wrap around glass. Sometimes transparent – in which case the employees live in a goldfish bowl denuded of all privacy. More often reflective – the glass echoing the surroundings bizarrely as if an artist with a severe tremor has been at work with an enormous paintbrush. And just occasionally partially obscured glass is used that mysteriously and subtly displays the interior.

And it’s the last of those three glass ‘styles’ that applies to this first image.

Staircase of enlightenment

It was approaching dusk and the lights were on in the building and although I’ve passed this building numerous times before I’ve never seen it quite like this.

The other three images come from the same 200yds or so section of the Euston Road in London as I was walking back to Euston Station to catch the train home last week. Slightly earlier in my walk I dithered around at the corner where Gower Street meets the Euston Rd viewing the reflective glassed frontage on the N side of Euston Rd.

Looking North on Gower St - click to enlarge

The late afternoon light was shining on the S side frontages and reflecting them across the road.

Shaky building - click to enlarge

Geometry puzzle - click to enlarge

There are some rather odd overhangs and right angles to this frontage that adds to the slightly discombobulating reflections presented to the viewer, and appeal to me as a Photographer.  Picasso-esque perhaps.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Glass Houses

  1. Jimi Jones says:

    Very nicely captured, Andy. I really like these, each with it’s own character. Architecturally, they all look great, although I am continually drawn to the last shot for some reason. Good stuff, bud.

  2. Curt Fleenor says:

    All great images Andy but I love the symmetry and POV of the first one!

  3. ken bello says:

    I’ve always liked modern architecture, and these buildings are no exception. You’ve captured them nicely here and the photos bring out the interesting angles and curves in the buildings. Well done.

  4. Dave DiCello says:

    Wow, some really great images here Andy, I think that the second one is my favorite. Awesome write up, as always!

  5. Nice set of images. I love building reflections. Just caught a few myself last week at the Phoenix Photowalk.

  6. Len Saltiel says:

    Great set of images Andy. I like the glass especially for reflections. London is one of my favorite cities to visit. I love the architecture. I just finished the Steve Jobs biography. He had some interesting thoughts on glass.

  7. Marc says:

    Nice architectural shots Andy. I know these buildings well and you’ve done a fine job capturing them.

  8. I love seeing reflections in buildings. The first tall one with the stairwell-excellent!!!

Comments are closed.