When reality is distorted

For today’s post I’m back down to sea level. The streets of East London: Spitalfields to be precise.

Do you, like me, find that photography enriches your day-to-day life?  The act of carrying a camera almost everywhere, I believe, makes me much more aware of what is around me.  I see things, notice things, that I probably wouldn’t otherwise take note of. And I try to take that awareness one stage further by making sure that I am not just looking around me but also Up and Down.

Today’s image is the result of looking up.

Rooflight Reflections - Spitalfields Market - click to enlarge

This is taken in the interior of the Old Spitalfields Market just east of the City of London. This cavernous building was erected in 1887 and served as a major wholesale fruit and vegetable market for the Capital until 1991 when it located to new premises. It’s now home to a thriving mixed market of up to 110 stallholders with numerous cafes and restaurants close by.

I was wandering through this and happened to look up.  Within the interior is this boxed-in glass structure – a building within a building  – and what caught my eye was the way the glass wall reflected the original glass roof-lights in a continued but distorted diagonal line.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in London, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When reality is distorted

  1. ken bello says:

    I wonder how many people walk through here and never notice this beauty. Great shot.

  2. Dave DiCello says:

    Now that is just so cool man. I’m with Ken, I may have walked by this 100 times and never taken the shot.

  3. Marc says:

    I know Spitalfields very well and used to work around the corner from there. I ages, I walk around everywhere these days with my camera eyes! I am so switched on to my surroundings, I love it!

  4. Very cool shot. Great reflection and distortion.

  5. Jimi Jones says:

    Lovely shot, Andy. I really like the distorted reflections. Nice work.

    I’m with you, I take my camera just about everywhere and continually look for opportunities to create something from the surroundings. The world never looks the same again after committing to photography. 🙂

  6. Rick says:

    Oh it looks like a nerve ending! Very cool!

  7. Adam Allegro says:

    Really cool shot!! The distortion is making me crazy! haha. Well done buddy.

Comments are closed.