Chalk Track Walkers

We are back on Ivinghoe Beacon in Bedfordshire today, on the edge of the Chiltern Hills. Barely a hill, but it’s the nearest thing to free-standing high ground in my area of Middle England. It’s composed of chalky ground, so the paths stand out against the green of the grass. I’ve posted a number of times from here including Ploughed Up recently, and Lambing – a tale of two seasons. There was also another post titled Chalk Track Walker that was not identified as coming from the Beacon (but was) and featured a walker who was inserted during processing.

Today the walkers are real and unadulterated.

_DS75232As we were descending off the top (same day as the image in Ploughed Up was taken) I spotted this couple walking up and immediately thought of catching them as they crested a little ridge on the undulating walk. So I stopped and waited and shot this image.

As this is one of our favourite destinations to visit when we feel the need to stand on elevated ground I thought it was time to show the view of the Beacon from close to the car park.

_DS75188_origNot much of a walk and no great height gain, but from the top you look out over a vast flat plain bounded by smaller hills on two sides including Dunstable Downs. Very peaceful apart from the fact that it lies under a flight path into Luton Airport, but one’s hearing in time just blots out that noise.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, The Human touch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Chalk Track Walkers

  1. Jimmy Denham says:

    Love the black and white and the landscape looks beautiful, big hill or not!

    Like

  2. vastlycurious.com says:

    What a lovely place !

    Like

  3. Beautiful spot Andy. I love the B&W.

    Like

  4. smackedpentax says:

    I especially love the top one…it is really simple but it makes you want to know what lies over that hill (they know)…and I would also like to walk the tracks in the second landscape…excellent, both of them

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Very much James. For a keen hill walker it really is maddening sometimes to think that I have spent my working life in one of the flatter areas of the UK. This hill really provides a liberating feeling.

      Like

  5. oneowner says:

    Looks like a great location for photographers, or anybody that needs a little peace and quite. The first shot reminds me of “the decisive moment”. Well done.

    Like

  6. munchow says:

    It’s a beautiful black and white photo, full of ambiance. Well anticipated, Andy! Chiltern Hills may not give you a lot of elevation gain, but it looks like a lovely area.

    Like

  7. Rich McPeek says:

    Beautiful black and white shot Andy! Terrific post!

    Like

  8. Chillbrook says:

    Growing up in Hertfordshire Andy, Ivinghoe Beacon was somewhere we used to go with the school on occasion. Smashing photographs.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. It’s a small world by the sound of it. I went there with my Father when I was a boy. I was born and brought up in Rickmansworth, which part of the county did you grow up in?

      Like

  9. I can see it is a very good place for a walk. Love the hills.

    Like

  10. ehpem says:

    Lovely spot. I like both the photos, but it is very nice to see the long view. It appears that it might be tough to find a day, or even a time of day, when there are not a lot of people about, getting in the photos. Though they do fit nicely into both of these photos.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ehpem. It is very popular and deservedly so with walkers. It’s also the venue for a lot of model aircraft enthusiasts who use the lift generated by the wind up the hill to fly their aircraft (no motors) – the models just ride the air currents performing spectacular acrobats occasionally. I have an image of it that I’ll be sharing in a week or two probably.

      Like

  11. Toad Hollow Photography says:

    Absolutely spectacular work here, Andy, I love ’em both my friend! That first shot is full of great natural tension and the second has terrific lines to follow! Really lovely, my friend, great shots!!!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you so much Toad. I thought it was time to show the Beacon in a long shot because I’ve posted about it a few times now. The secret with photographing people in the landscape is to pre-visualize what you want and then wait for it to evolve.

      Like

Comments are closed.