Germander Speedwell

Of all the pretty little flowers that bloom in the Spring this is one of my favourites: Germander Speedwell (Veronica Chamaedrys) also known as Bird’s Eye Speedwell.

Post282_DSC_9759_WP

It’s a tiny flower with flower heads of up to just 4mm across. It’s a common invader of lawns, which is where It grows down the bottom of our garden where we happily let the garden grow wild and where the Lawn Treatment firm haven’t reached, creating a blue haze of colour when seen from a distance.

Post282_DSC_5442_1

Not an easy flower to photograph due to its size and because the flowers never line themselves up neatly to make it easy for the photographer to show them en masse (!)

Two images today – one straight and the other given an impressionistic treatment that seems in keeping with this pretty little flower.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Garden Plants and Wild Flowers, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Germander Speedwell

  1. Mark says:

    Very nice Andy.

  2. Len says:

    Very nice images with excellent color Andy.

  3. oneowner says:

    I like these, Andy. They’re quite nice. I have this plant in my lawn in one area and I just let it go because it look s so nice. After the flowers are gone you would never know it was there.

  4. ShimonZ says:

    We have something similar here, and I love them.

  5. Mark Summerfield says:

    It’s so nice to be able to have an area of garden where nature is allowed to do its own thing. You never know what it is going to bring as photo subjects. Congrats on both letting mother nature be the boss and from getting such nice images of her work.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Mark. We are very lucky to have an area under the fruit trees that we have allowed to go semi-wild. Snowdrops, Daffodils, Primroses, Bluebells, Cowslips, Speedwells all grow there. Sadly they all bloom in Spring and once they are over, the colour is gone. Nice while it lasts though.

  6. Lovely and I too adore the little flower (and also forget me not which is out in my garden now) I find blue flowers in particular really tricky to capture.

  7. A really challenging subject, I can tell from here! I love the two perspectives you’ve shared here, and the razor sharp depth-of-focus… really sets those beautiful little flowers apart from the surroundings. Just lovely, Andy!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for commenting Toad. It’s so sad how short a life-span these little flowers have. One moment there’s a blue haze and now they are gone. My hit rate with these flowers is about one in twenty!

  8. seekraz says:

    Would love to see them covering a field or lawn somewhere. Very pretty images, Andy…love that second one.

Comments are closed.